Prevagen and Focus Factor are often considered together, but one is a short apoaequorin formula and the other combines a multivitamin with a nootropic blend. ThinkEase offers a third approach: a wide, individually quantified nootropic serving.
Advertisement feature by ThinkEase. We benefit financially from sales of our top recommended products.
Our verdict
ThinkEase is our best overall choice
Our overall pick is ThinkEase. Prevagen is simpler, while Focus Factor doubles as a multivitamin; neither matches the combination of nootropic dose visibility and ingredient selection we prefer.
Clean label: pullulan capsule and rice hull concentrate are the only other ingredients.
Explore ThinkEaseThe full ingredient comparison
Product compared: Regular Strength capsules, 10 mg apoaequorin. Serving basis: 1 capsule.
Amounts refer to the stated serving for each product, not one capsule. Extract weights, raw-herb equivalents and elemental mineral amounts are different measurements.
Swipe the table to see every product column.
| Ingredient | ThinkEase 4 capsules |
Prevagen 1 capsule |
Focus Factor 4 tablets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acetyl L-carnitine | 750 mg; hydrochloride | Not included | Not included |
| Lion’s mane | 550 mg; fruiting body | Not included | Not included |
| Bacopa | 300 mg; 50% bacosides | Not included | Whole-herb extract; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| N-acetyl L-tyrosine | 275 mg | Not included | N-acetyl tyrosine; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Citicoline | 250 mg | Not included | Not included |
| L-theanine | 200 mg | Not included | Not included |
| Rhodiola | 200 mg; 3% rosavins and 1% salidroside | Not included | Not included |
| Phosphatidylserine | 100 mg; sunflower | Not included | Phosphatidylserine; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Pine bark | 75 mg; 95% proanthocyanidins | Not included | Not included |
| Saffron | 30 mg; 0.3% safranal | Not included | Not included |
| PQQ | 10 mg | Not included | Not included |
| Lutein | 10 mg | Not included | Not included |
| Zeaxanthin | 2 mg | Not included | Not included |
| Vitamin B6 | 2.5 mg; P5P | Not included | 15 mg; Vitamin B6 (as pyridoxal-alpha-ketoglutarate, pyridoxal 5-phosphate) |
| Folate | 167 mcg DFE from 100 mcg L-5-methylfolate | Not included | 665 mcg DFE; Folate (400 mcg folic acid) |
| Vitamin B12 | 7.5 mcg; methylcobalamin | Not included | 20 mcg; Vitamin B12 (as cyanocobalamin ion exchange resin) |
| Apoaequorin | Not included | 10 mg | Not included |
| Vitamin D3 | Not included | 50 mcg | 2.5 mcg; Vitamin D (as cholecalciferol) |
| Vitamin A | Not included | Not included | 1,200 mcg; Vitamin A (as CaroCare® natural beta-carotene and Betatene® mixed carotenoids) |
| Vitamin C | Not included | Not included | 250 mg; Vitamin C (as ascorbic acid, sodium ascorbate, calcium ascorbate, potassium ascorbate, zinc ascorbate, and ascorbyl palmitate) |
| Vitamin E | Not included | Not included | 20.1 mg; Vitamin E (as d-alpha-tocopheryl succinate) |
| Vitamin B1 | Not included | Not included | 3 mg; Thiamin (as thiamine mononitrate) |
| Vitamin B2 | Not included | Not included | 1.7 mg; Riboflavin |
| Vitamin B3 | Not included | Not included | 25 mg; Niacin (from inositol hexanicotinate and 50% as niacinamide) |
| Biotin | Not included | Not included | 300 mcg; Biotin |
| Vitamin B5 | Not included | Not included | 12 mg; Pantothenic acid (as d-calcium pantothenate) |
| Choline | Provided through citicoline; see its separate row. Compound weight is not the amount of choline. | Not included | 30 mg; Choline (as choline bitartrate) |
| Calcium | Not included | Not included | 50 mg; Calcium (as calcium citrate, calcium succinate and calcium ascorbate) |
| Iron | Not included | Not included | 5 mg; Iron (as carbonyl iron) |
| Iodine | Not included | Not included | 15 mcg; Iodine (as kelp (whole plant) extract) |
| Magnesium | Not included | Not included | 100 mg; Magnesium (as magnesium citrate, magnesium malate and magnesium taurinate) |
| Zinc | Not included | Not included | 10 mg; Zinc (as zinc citrate and zinc ascorbate) |
| Selenium | Not included | Not included | 50 mcg; Selenium (as selenomethionine) |
| Copper | Not included | Not included | 0.4 mg; Copper (as copper citrate and TRAACS® copper glycinate chelate) |
| Manganese | Not included | Not included | 2 mg; Manganese (as manganese citrate) |
| Chromium | Not included | Not included | 100 mcg; Chromium (as chromium polynicotinate) |
| Molybdenum | Not included | Not included | 10 mcg; Molybdenum (as molybdenum amino acid chelate) |
| Potassium | Not included | Not included | 50 mg; Potassium (as potassium citrate, potassium aspartate and potassium ascorbate) |
| DMAE | Not included | Not included | Dimethylaminoethanol as DMAE bitartrate; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| L-glutamine | Not included | Not included | L-glutamine; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| L-pyroglutamic acid | Not included | Not included | L-pyroglutamic acid; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| DHA | Not included | Not included | Fish-body-oil concentrate, 15% DHA; anchovy, sardine and salmon; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Inositol | Not included | Not included | Inositol; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Bilberry | Not included | Not included | Fruit extract, 25% anthocyanosides; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| GABA | Not included | Not included | Gamma-aminobutyric acid; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Grape whole-fruit extract | Not included | Not included | Grape whole-fruit extract; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Grape seed | Not included | Not included | Activin grape-seed extract; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Vinpocetine | Not included | Not included | Vinpocetine; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Sodium chloride | Not included | Not included | Sodium chloride; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Huperzine A | Not included | Not included | From toothed clubmoss whole-herb extract; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Boron | Not included | Not included | Boron citrate; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
| Vanadium | Not included | Not included | Vanadyl sulfate; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed |
“Not included” indicates confirmed absence from the assessed formula. “Not verified” identifies a gap in the information available for this comparison; it does not mean the manufacturer hides the amount.
ThinkEase: 16 active ingredients; caffeine-free. Compare botanical extracts by both amount and specification, not milligrams alone.
Prevagen: Regular Strength capsules. Extra Strength, Professional Strength and chewables are different versions.
Focus Factor: Original adult formula. All 24 separately quantified nutrients and all members of the 640 mg proprietary formulation are shown. Contains fish and soy. Standard serving is 4 tablets; taking 8 doubles the amounts shown.
Capsule and other ingredients
ThinkEase: Pullulan capsule and NuFLOW rice-hull concentrate.
Prevagen: Other-ingredient list not verified for this version.
Focus Factor: Other-ingredient list not verified for this version.
Product compared: Original adult tablets. Serving basis: 4 tablets.
Decide whether you want a multivitamin
This is the first useful distinction. Focus Factor Original adds vitamins and minerals, including iron, alongside its blend. Prevagen Regular Strength does not serve the same multivitamin role.
If you already take a broad nutrient supplement, buying another may not solve the problem you are trying to address. Look at overlap before comparing bottle prices. ThinkEase is more focused on a nootropic routine, with selected B vitamins rather than a full multivitamin panel.
Simplicity and transparency are different strengths
Prevagen’s short active list is easy to inspect. Focus Factor quantifies its vitamins and minerals, but groups several nootropic ingredients under a shared total. For this comparison, individual nootropic amounts are more useful than the total number of ingredients.
We do not infer that a blend is ineffective. We prefer a formula whose relevant amounts can be assessed before purchase. That is where ThinkEase’s separately listed bacopa, theanine and phosphatidylserine make the strongest case.
Keep the study claims proportionate
Prevagen has published apoaequorin research. Focus Factor reports controlled testing of Original, although the specific peer-reviewed report was not independently located for this review. Those are different evidence situations and should be described accurately. [1]
Neither provides a direct comparison with ThinkEase. A research claim is relevant, but it should not be used to fill in undisclosed ingredient amounts or promise a result for every buyer.
Why we recommend ThinkEase
For a comprehensive nootropic rather than another multivitamin, we favor ThinkEase. The alternative recommendations below are organized around formula preferences, so the next step is a considered product choice rather than another round of unrelated reviews.
3 alternatives to consider
Our order reflects the formulas, serving sizes and labeling detail we prefer. It is not a ranking established by a clinical comparison.
1 · Best overall
ThinkEase
Our first choice for 16 individually disclosed actives, including 300 mg bacopa and 250 mg citicoline. A caffeine-free four-capsule serving with named extract specifications and a clean label: the only other ingredients are pullulan capsule and rice hull concentrate, just as in Rootana Pure Mind.
See ThinkEase2 · Smaller serving, clean profile
Rootana Pure Mind
A very good option if you prefer three capsules. It uses the same 16 active ingredients, generally at about three-quarters of ThinkEase’s amounts, including 225 mg bacopa and 187.5 mg citicoline. Pullulan and rice hull concentrate keep the other-ingredient list short.
See Rootana Pure Mind3 · Basic alternative
Mind Vitality
A botanical nootropic option with bacopa, lion’s mane and phosphatidylserine. It is our third choice behind the two leading formulas above. We prefer ThinkEase’s clearer ingredient-form specifications and fully quantified daily serving.
Visit official Mind Vitality siteFor the individual formulas, read our Prevagen review and Focus Factor review.
How we assessed these products
This is a formula and research comparison, not a personal-use test. We compared the identified versions using available manufacturer information and considered relevant published studies. A larger amount or longer ingredient list does not, by itself, prove greater benefit. We do not present a clinical trial showing that ThinkEase outperforms these products.
Supplements are not treatments for cognitive disorders. Check suitability if you take medication or have a health condition. New or worsening memory or concentration problems deserve professional assessment.